Seeing that I missed the Concours d’Elegance for the fourth year running and everyone’s busy rubbing it in, (coz they know just how much of a car fanatic I am), I decided that I’ll have my own Concours up in my blog! So today I’ll do a picture post of the cars that feature on my most wanted list. I’m talking about classic cars, none of these gadget laden machines of today, many of which may never be considered as classic cars 30 years down the line.

I’ve decided that I have to own all (ok lemme be realistic….SOME!) of the cars on this list before I die. After all are safely stored in the glass showroom (with a rotating floor!) in my backyard, then I’ll gladly die a happy man.

1. 1973 Mercedes Benz 600 Pullman

What’s the first thought that comes into your mind when you see this car? Brings back memories of Kenyatta and Moi, right? To me, this car symbolizes power. That’s it. Most African Presidents, European royalty and some of the world’s richest and most powerful personalities had to have one in their garages in the 60’s and 70’s. I came within a few feet of two the former presidential limos (Moi had two identical ones, one navy blue and the other sky blue) at the workshop at DT Dobie three years ago but they’re guarded 24/7 and the cops were not too willing to let me get any closer. I wouldn’t mind one in navy blue.

2. 1964 Rolls-Royce Silver Cloud III

First thought? Queen Elizabeth 2, right? The Silver Cloud has served QE2 from the 1960s until 2003 when it was replaced by a hideous special edition Bentley. I want one in black.

3. 1966 Lincoln Contnental


For me, this has got to be the most interesting car on this list. Almost every person that I can associate with it died in it, whether in the movies or in real life, save for two.

I first saw the Continental in James Bond “Goldfinger” and it was love at first sight. All that chrome, simple design and fluid lines. If you’ve watched the movie, you might remember the scene where Mr. Goldfinger sent his trusted sidekick Oddjob (the short chubby Japanese dude with the lethal bowler hat) to pick up some dude from the airport. The passenger never made it to his destination as Oddjob shot him in the back seat, drove to a demolition yard where the car was crushed and reduced to a cube the size of a tv set, and dropped onto the back of a pickup.

J.F.K. sent a convertible version to Kenyatta upon his inauguration as Kenya’s Prime Minister in 1963. Ironically, it is the same car in which JFK was assassinated in the same year.

The Continental featured in George Clooney’s movie “Confessions of a Dangerous Mind” where some fellas got popped in it. (by the way, that’s one tight movie!)

It also featured in the Matrix, thankfully (for me) no one died this time round.

It makes me wonder why I’d like to associate myself with a car that signifies death. Is it an omen of some kind?

Anyway, me wants one in black. I wouldn’t mind buying it as a shell and building it up from scratch.

4. 1965 Shelby Cobra

You just have to love this car. It’s so damn sexy! Those curves!! Quite fast and very powerful (over 420 BHP) as well. I had the pleasure of viewing one at a showroom in Jo’burg two years ago. Just as we were leaving, some guy decided to take it for a spin and he stopped at the traffic lights just beside our modest Toyota Tazz (a.k.a Conquest) When the lights turned to green, the Cobra’s brutal engine came to life and voop! It was gone! I want one in sky blue or black with twin white racing stripes from the hood to the rear.

5. 1967 Shelby Mustang GT500


Eleanor in Gone in 60 Seconds. Need I say more?

6. 1965 Pontiac GTO

They call it the first true American muscle car. Again, need I sayeth more?

A.O.B

I love anything and everything BMW, but lately this Chris Bangle character has given beamer enthusiasts several reasons to hate him. The 7 series front end styling was very controversial (and the mid-life facelift didn’t help much), so was the Z4 (I love this one!) the 6 series (ugly rear and dashboard) and the incredibly ugly X3. And having seen spy pics of the next generation X5, I couldn’t loathe him any less.

There was an online petition to sack him as the head of design at BMW, but that got nowhere since he’s actually winning awards for his recent designs.

But if recent spy pics of the 2009 E-Class are anything to go by, BMW will be in serious problems! (even though all the new shindez all look alike) Check this out!


So what d’you think? feel free to add your own classic cars to the list.

