Ok Archer was a little careless and left the PC on, right on Blogger where I was editing some posts yet to appear here then I got busted! Yes, my cover has been blown! What to do now, change identity? Done that already, less than a month ago coz of the same carelessness on my part. But I’m feeling Archer, so I’m not about to change that any time soon unless I really have to. Anyway, the buster (can I call him that) was quite enthusiastic about this whole blogging thing and I had to pay a little bribe so that he keeps my identity under wraps. (trust Kenyans to solicit for bribes even from family members! Shamelessly yaani!) So the bribe was that I’d give him some airtime on my blog as a guest blogger. I thought about it and I thought it was a small price to pay for my anonymity so why not? Ok guy, you’ve got your 15 seconds of fame. Do your thing!

Angelus:

I am a Kenyan who has lived outside Kenya for the past six years. Six years isn’t long but if you consider that these six years were the personality forming years of my life, the years when my eyes were open to the real world, a world so different to the PS 1 games that have become the modern day folk tales. The game consoles are the village elders and the games themselves are the tales. But that’s a story for another day. So forgive me if I am not in touch with what’s going down on ground zero.

I would like to start my blogging career by commenting on something that I have seen creeping out of the wood works as South Africa enters it’s adolescent age. The thing that I want to talk about is freedom bashing. I am guilty of doing this so I can safely say I comment objectively. I happened to have the opportunity to read KenyanMusing’s interesting post about her getting a good hard fuck, but due to my quiet sexual habits I dismissed her article without giving it much of a thought and even suggested that it shouldn’t have been there. But I was wrong, she was expressing her freedom of speech, and she had every right to put it there. It’s only after reading more and more of her posts that I began to admire the intellect and great sense of humour that this chic is endowed with. I must admit that I fell for the same trap many of my peers fall for, bashing the freedom just because it’s not the freedom that we want. I think some of us really need to go and check up the denotation “Freedom”.

A few weeks ago I was listening to some talk radio; the DJ was interviewing a high profile Joburg socialite. She has been getting a lot of beef cause she is honest to everybody about what she is all about. This chic is about fur coats, German cars, beauty parlors, stiletto heels and of course the ICE. Now she is 20, she’s engaged to some mega high roller who happens to be somewhere bordering on 50. He pays for everything so if you’re thinking she’s a gold digger you may be right.

This interview happened to take place during the 30-year anniversary of the Sharpeville Massacre, so there were a lot of emotions flowing through the air. as expected people called in and had there say, but there happened to be a particular caller who peeked my interest. He said that all that was fought for in 1976 was all in vain as we as the modern generation have not lived up to the freedom they thought they would get. I am telling you this guy dissed this chic savagely. My problem is that this guy’s tip was that today we are not living up to the ideals that they were brought up to several years ago. He was putting us down for living freely we were expressing the same freedom that they fought for.

Anyway this is just an example of this ideology and it’s not restricted to the older generation either. I hope we can allow people to express themselves whatever way they feel like coz it’s their freedom and nobody else’s.

Angelus

Archer’s note: This A-name business is not a family thing so don’t even ask. Anyway, Angelus has really taken a liking to reading Kenyan blogs since I introduced him to it. He promises to reveal more about himself and why he chose the name Angelus real soon. So look out for some young promising talent soon to join blogosphere.

