May 10th marked 5 years since I started my first blog.

Evidently the day came and went without much fanfare. Just like the doomsday prediction last Saturday.

What have I been up to?

Well, as many of you already know, I do a weekly show on Capital FM (The Jam) with Cess & Maqbul. Crazy fellows, those. I’m also their “social media guy”. That’s in addition to my other fulltime job and uni. So now you know why I don’t blog as often.

A bunch of bloggers also came together and started an online magazine (if we can call it that) targeted towards Kenyan men. It’s called Wanaume (www.wanau.me) << Pretty smart, eh? Thank one @Mwirigi for that bit of smart thinking. The idea came about during a conversation between our Editor and me, where we realized that Kenyan men tuko down tu sana. Let’s say the truth. We are. So the idea behind Wanau.me is to redefine Kenyan men. To make us strive to be better than what we are today. Group blogs are the way to go, since they consolidate numbers and are easier to manage than individual blogs. Just look at the good stuff that’s been going on over at DiaspoRadical.

The bloggers behind Wanau.me are myself, Bobby, Ray, Sue, The Bartender, Pastor Wa, PseudoLinguist and our Editor. More bloggers will join the team as time goes by.

The site has only been up for a coupla months and there are not as many posts up since we all have fulltime jobs, and don’t always have time to blog. But we’re trying.

We’re currently looking for a fashion blogger to do the men’s fashion column. If you’re interested, or if you know someone who is, kindly ask them to drop me an email on archer@wanau.me. The target audience is 25 to late 30s working class Kenyan men. So none of that skinny jeans/suits sijui shorts with loafers bila socks nonsense. We want to teach men how to dress well, not how to look like a circus clown.

We also welcome posts by contributors, so if you’ve got a post that you want to have published, hit us up on theguys@wanau.me

Follow us on Twitter: @Wanaume

So now that you know where to get me when I’m not here…..Dosvidanya! (That’s Russian for goodbye)

What’s on my Playlist?

Swedish House Mafia – One (Your Name)

